Distributed Firewalling 

Current cyber attacks use poorly secured endpoints and thus spread laterally – the existing perimeter firewall is ineffective against this type of cyber attack. The answer is micro segmentation in the data center through distributed firewalling within the VMware hypervisor. In this way, the corresponding security policies can be directly assigned to the higher-level applications. This creates application-oriented security – detached from physical hardware components. 

The VMware NSX virtualization application extends the capabilities of traditional network infrastructure while supporting existing operations faster and more cost-effectively. Our experts will be happy to advise you! 

„VMWare NSX  network virtualization for the software defined data center of the future

Logical Firewall 

A firewall that provides security mechanisms for dynamic, two-component virtual data centers to cover different use cases. A distributed firewall, on the other hand, focuses on east-west access control, while an edge firewall focuses on north-south traffic monitoring at the client or data center perimeter. Together, these components cover the end-to-end firewall requirements of virtual data centers. 

Introspection:

VMware NSX Guest Introspection passes the processing of anti-virus and anti-malware agents to a dedicated, secure virtual appliance deployed by VMware partners. Because the secure virtual appliance (unlike a guest virtual machine) does not go offline, it can continuously update antivirus signatures to protect the virtual machines on the host without interruption. In addition, new virtual machines (or existing virtual machines that went offline) are immediately protected with the latest antivirus signatures when they go online.

Integration:

You already use an existing firewalling solution and have your own team of highly qualified engineers – VMware NSX integrates e. g. next generation firewalls by Fortinet? This also applies to anti-virus solutions, e. g. by ESET or Kaspersky, and thus forms the basis for transforming your data center into a state-of-the-art operation of your infrastructure.

Distributed Firewalling 

Aktuelle Cyberangriffe nutzen schlecht gesicherte Endpoints und verbreiten sich so lateral – die existierende Perimeter Firewall ist gegen diesen Typ von Cyberangriff wirkungslos. Die Antwort darauf lautet: Mikro Segmentierung im Data Center durch verteiltes Firewalling innerhalb des VMware Hypervisors. So können die entsprechenden Sicherheitsrichtlinien direkt den übergeordneten Anwendungen zugeordnet werden. Dadurch wird eine anwendungsorientierte Sicherheit geschaffen – losgelöst von physischen Hardwarekomponenten. 

 Die Anwendung von VMware NSX zur Virtualisierung erweitert die Funktionen der traditionellen Netzwerkinfrastruktur und unterstützt gleichzeitig bestehende Abläufe schneller und kostengünstiger. Unsere Experten beraten Sie gerne!

„VMWare NSX  network virtualization for the software defined data center of the future

Logical Firewall 

Eine Firewall, die Sicherheitsmechanismen für dynamische, virtuelle Rechenzentren aus zwei Komponenten bereitstellt, um unterschiedliche Anwendungsfälle abzudecken. Eine “Distributed Firewall” hingegen konzentriert sich auf die Ost-West-Zugangskontrolle und die “Edge Firewall” stellt die Nord-Süd-Verkehrsüberwachung am Mandanten- oder Data Center-Perimeter in den Fokus. Zusammen decken diese Komponenten die Anforderungen an die End-to-End-Firewall von virtuellen Rechenzentren ab. 

Introspection:

VMware NSX Guest Introspection übergibt die Verarbeitung von Antiviren- und Anti-Malware-Agenten an eine dedizierte, sichere virtuelle Appliance, die von VMware-Partnern bereitgestellt wird. Da die sichere virtuelle Appliance (im Gegensatz zu einer virtuellen Gastmaschine) nicht offline geht, kann sie Antiviren-Signaturen kontinuierlich aktualisieren und so die virtuellen Maschinen auf dem Host ununterbrochen schützen. Außerdem werden neue virtuelle Maschinen (oder bestehende virtuelle Maschinen, die offline gingen) sofort mit den aktuellsten Antiviren-Signaturen geschützt, wenn sie online gehen. 

Integration:

Sie nutzen bereits eine bestehende Firewalling Lösung und haben ein eigenes Team hochqualifizierter Engineers – VMware NSX integriert z. B. Next Generation Firewalls von Fortinet? Dies gilt ebenso für Anti-Virus Lösungen z. B. von ESET oder Kaspersky und bildet so die Grundlage bei der Transformationen Ihres Data Centers hin zu einem modernsten Betrieb Ihrer Infrastruktur.