Custom Service Broker 

Not all services necessarily have to be based on existing solutions. Two of our service brokers were specifically developed with the focus to add value for the operation and the developers to represent. 

Great attention was paid to the simple usability as well as the good scalability of the services in order to also meet the requirements of large application landscapes. 

“In a world where container and services play an increasing role, it is important to rely on open standards”

Autoscaler 

Responding to an existing load on services by scaling is a fundamental part of enterprise environments and production environments. Automation of this process is essential to provide smooth, direct and effective scaling. For decision making, metrics from the platforms are collected and interpreted for the resources to be scaled. 

service configuration via dashboard and API 

This Service Broker offers the possibility to carry out individual configurations. These can be performed either manually or via API. 

Multiple Scaling Parameters 

The autoscaler allows scaling according to CPU, RAM and number of requests. The combination of these parameters is possible without any problems. 

platform independent 

The Autoscaler Service is primarily not bound to a platform, but acts cloud/platform diagnostically. This enables the use across multiple platforms. 

micro-service architecture

The Autoscaler Service is divided into several components and is based on a micro service architecture instead of a monolith. This means that the individual components can be maintained, scaled and modified separately without the entire service stopping. 

Threshold-based 

The Autoscaler service uses easily configurable thresholds to decide when and in which direction to scale. In addition, limits can be set on scaling operations to maintain control over the automatic operations. 

dynamic scaling 

In addition to scaling with a fixed step size, the Autoscaler service provides a dynamic step size calculation for applications and resources whose load depends on incoming HTTP requests, in order to minimize the number of scaling steps required. Thus, it is possible to react promptly to occurring loads and to directly dismantle previously installed resources that have been inactive after the load has dropped. 

Log Metric 

Log Metric Service Broker is a simple and fast solution for applications deployed on Clound Foundry to monitor both log messages of all types and container metrics. 

In order to use this service, only the applications to be monitored must be linked to the service, and all logs and metrics are consumed by Cloudfoundrys Loggregator, processed, stored in Elasticsearch and then made available to the user in a specially created dashboard. 

The LogMetric Service Broker is multi-tenant, so users can only see the data they are authorized to view. 

Log Features 

The service comes along with a front end that allows you to stream log messages live, historicize logs, and search logs. Furthermore, all important container metrics are recorded. Furthermore, the service offers the possibility to create diagrams based on metrics and log data. 

Multi-Tenancy 

The Service Broker supports the authentication model of Cloud Foundry and only allows a user access to the data of an application if he has the corresponding authorizations. 

scalability 

All tools used in connection with the application can be scaled horizontally under increased load to counteract this load. 

selectivity 

Service bindings allow you to obtain only logs and metrics of selected applications. 

Compatibility   

All our service brokers meet the official Open Service Broker API definition. With our interface, developers can order databases in self-service and to a large extent also configure and manage them in self-service (e. g. backup management, specific configuration options for timeouts, users and much more).

evoila Custom Service Broker 

Nicht alle Services müssen zwingend auf bestehenden Lösungen basieren. Zwei unserer Service Broker wurden gezielt mit der Ausrichtung entwickelt einen Mehrwert für den Betrieb und die Entwickler darzustellen. 

  • Ein großes Augenmerk wurde hierbei auf die einfache Nutzbarkeit, sowie die gute Skalierbarkeit der Services gelegt, um auch Anforderungen von großen Applikationslandschaften gerecht zu werden. 

“In a world where container and services play an increasing role, it is important to rely on open standards”

Autoscaler 

Das Reagieren auf Last auf Services durch Skalieren ist ein Grundbestandteil von Enterprise Umgebungen und Produktionsumgebungen. Eine Automatisierung dieses Vorganges ist essentiell, um ein reibungsloses, direktes und effektives Skalieren bereitzustellen. Zur Entscheidungsfindung werden Metriken aus den Plattformen zu den zu skalierenden Ressourcen gesammelt und interpretiert. 

 

 

Service Konfiguration via Dashboard und API 

Dieser Service Broker bringt die Möglichkeit, mit individuellen Konfigurationen vorzunehmen. Diese können entweder manuell oder via API durchgeführt werden.

Multiple Scaling Parameters 

Der Autoscaler ermöglicht eine Skalierung nach CPU, RAM und Anzahl der Requests. Die Kombination dieser Parameter ist problemlos möglich.

Plattformunabhängig 

Der Autoscaler Service ist primär nicht an eine Plattform gebunden, sondern agiert Cloud/Plattform-agnostisch. Dies ermöglicht den Einsatz über mehrere Plattformen hinweg. 

Micro-Service Architektur 

Der Autoscaler Service ist in diverse Komponenten unterteilt und orientiert sich an einer Micro-Service Architektur anstatt einem Monolith. Dadurch können die einzelnen Komponenten getrennt gewartet, skaliert und verändert werden, ohne dass der ganze Service stillsteht.

Schwellenwertbasiert 

Der Autoscaler Service benutzt einfach zu konfigurierende Schwellenwerte, an denen entschieden wird, wann und in welche Richtung skaliert wird. Zusätzlich können Begrenzungen bezüglich Skalierungsvorgänge gesetzt werden, um Kontrolle über die automatischen Vorgänge zu behalten.

Dynamisches Skalieren 

Neben dem Skalieren mit fester Schrittgröße bietet der Autoscaler Service für Applikationen und Ressourcen, dessen Last abhängig von eingehenden HTTP Requests sind, eine Berechnung einer dynamischen Schrittgröße, um die Anzahl der benötigten Skalierungsschritte zu minimieren. Somit kann zeitnah auf auftretende Last reagiert werden, sowie das Abbauen der vorher aufgestellten und nach dem Abfall der Last untätigen Ressourcen direkt durchgeführt werden..

Log Metric 

Der Log Metric Service Broker ist eine einfache und schnelle Lösung Applikationen, welche auf Cloud Foundry deployed sind, um zu monitoren – sowohl Log-Nachrichten aller Art, als auch Metriken des Containers. 

Um diesen Service nutzen zu können, müssen lediglich die zu überwachenden Applikationen an den Service gebunden werden und schon sind sämtliche Logs & Metriken vom Cloud Foundry Loggregator konsumiert, weiterverarbeitet, in Elasticsearch abgespeichert und anschließend in einem eigens dafür erstellten Dashboard dem Nutzer zur Verfügung gestellt.  

Der LogMetric Service Broker ist multi-tenant-fähig, sodass Nutzer nur die Daten sehen können, für deren Einsicht sie auch autorisiert sind. 

 

Log Features 

Der Service kommt mit einem Frontend, welches erlaubt, Log Nachrichten live zu streamen, Logs zu historisieren und zu durchsuchen. Des Weiteren werden alle wichtigen Container Metriken erfasst. 
Des Weiteren bietet der Service die Möglichkeit, Diagramme anhand von Metriken und Log Daten zu erstellen.  

Multi-Tenancy 

Der Service Broker unterstützt das Authentifizierungsmodell von Cloud Foundry und erlaubt einem Nutzer nur Zugriff auf die Daten einer Applikation, wenn er die entsprechenden Berechtigungen besitzt.

Skalierbarkeit 

Alle im Zusammenhang der Applikation verwendeten Tools können unter erhöhter Last horizontal skaliert werden, um dieser Last entgegenzuwirken.

Selektierbarkeit 

Über Service Bindings besteht die Möglichkeit, nur Logs und Metriken ausgewählter Applikationen zu erhalten.

Kompatibilität  

Alle unsere Service Broker entsprechen der offiziellen Open Service Broker API Definition. Mit unserer Schnittstelle können Entwickler im Self-Service Datenbanken bestellen und diese zu einem großen Teil auch im Self-Service konfigurieren und verwalten (bspw. Backup Management, spezifische Konfigurationsmöglichkeiten für Timeouts, User und vieles mehr).